At His Feet

Struggling
A burden too great
For me to bear

I inhale
And take a step
And I fall to the ground
I try to stand
But cannot

He comes up next to me
Carrying His burden
I look at Him
He smiles
His eyes show sorrow and affection

“My child,”
He says
“Why do you struggle?
Let me help you.”

I shake my head
Not wanting to let go
Of my burden
I stand
Great weight on my shoulders
And I realize
I cannot go on myself

He comes to me
Takes my burden
Strokes my cheek
“Why do you hurt yourself?
You don’t need to carry
This weight.”

A tear slides down
My cheek
Grateful

He stands
Takes my hand
And we carry on
Together

One thought on “At His Feet

Leave a Reply

