Cleansed

Lost, confused, and scared
The weight of the world on my shoulders
Nowhere else to go
I find myself
At the foot of the cross
Clinging to the One who saves

There is nothing left for me in the past
And the future seems so distant
How can I escape this vicious cycle?

I’m tired of pretending
Of running away
Of saying I’m okay
When I am so broken inside

Weeping
My tears mix with His blood
He alone can save me
I have no more strength

Gently He lifts me
Carries me to I know not where
The strength of a father
The protection of a brother
The tenderness of a lover

He lowers me into the river
Fast water flowing over my body
Vulnerable, scared, desperate
But I cannot fight it
I am too tired
I must trust my Master

The power of the water overwhelms me
Cold, strong, unrelenting
I feel I will be washed away
Or drown
I cannot feel his touch anymore
I cannot save myself
I feel there is no hope

Suddenly: the sun
His strong arms around me
Lifting me from the water
I gasp for breath
After so long without it
The sun on my face
Cool breeze on my skin
Water dripping from my hair
I laugh, and He laughs with me

Renewed strength
I am clean
I am stronger than before
I am loved
I am His

Leave a Reply

